beauty · makeup

Dramatic Purple Makeup

Hello everybody!

Today I’ve got a mini tutorial for a dramatic purple-hued makeup look. I occasionally like to incorporate colours like purples and pinks in my eye looks, but I do not usually go for a darker, more dramatic look. However, I wanted to try something new! Here is the look:

IMG_0463IMG_0468

I will admit I could’ve done better with the falsies, but it was good enough for me! Here are the steps I took to achieve this look:

 

Face Makeup

IMG_0582For my face makeup, I started off by priming my face with my Make Up For Ever Hydrating Primer. I spread this all over my face using my fingertips.

Then, I dabbed some of my Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Full Coverage Foundation across the various regions of my face and used my damp beauty blender to blend it out.

After it was all blended, I used my Smashbox Studio Skin 24-Hour Waterproof Concealer to cover up any red spots that remained and also to hide the dark circles under my eyes. For my under eye, I drew two chevrons with the wand, one pointing downwards from each eye, and blended it out with my beauty blender.

To add a bit of colour to my pale face, I used Benefit Hoola for both bronzer and contour. The brush I used is the stippling brush from my Sephora Collection Flatter Yourself Contour Brush Set. I use this brush to layer on the bronzer in light amounts, so I can gradually get my desired amount of colour. I used this under my cheekbones, on the sides and very top of my forehead, and slightly on my jawline for definition.

For my highlight I used a subtle amount of the eyeshadow Vermeer from my Modern Renaissance Palette from Anastasia Beverly Hills.

For my lips, I used NYX Liquid Suede Cream Lipstick in the colour Cherry Skies, which you can read a review about here.

Eye Makeup

IMG_0575

To start with my eyes, I primed them with my Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion. After blending that with my figure, I set the primer with the eyeshadow Tempera from my Modern Renaissance Palette.

The first colours I used were also from my MR palette: Raw Sienna and Warm Taupe. I used these colours lightly in my crease and above, so that the purple could fade into a bit of a brown/orange hue.

Then, I took my L’Oreal Infallible eyeshadows 005 Purple Obsession, and 013 Burning Black. Burning Black is actually not a black, but it is more of a deep wine/purple-ish shade. I used Purple Obsession across my lid, and blended Burning Black into the outer corner of my eyes. I also swiped a bit of Burning Black under my eyes as well.

On top of that, I used my Lise Watier eyeshadow, Ombre Souffle Supreme, in the colour Ciel de nuit. This is a squishy, cushion-textured eyeshadow pot. The eyeshadow is purple in colour, and contains little sparkles in it. I used this all across my lid, not blending it into my crease. You can’t see the sparkles in the photo because I couldn’t catch the light properly, but I assure you they were visible in person!

For the inner corner I used the colour Vermeer from the MR palette.

After the eyeshadow was done, I made sure to blend it all out once more (blend blend blend!) and drew on my cat eye with my Kat Von D Tattoo Liner in Trooper! Since I was going for a more dramatic look, I drew a longer wing than I would on a regular day, and filled it in thicker as well.

For my mascara, I used Marc Jacobs Velvet Noir Mascara on both my top and bottom lashes.

As I was waiting for my liner and mascara to dry, I filled in my eyebrows with the black colour from my Smashbox Full Exposure palette and a small angled brush. Then, I glued on my Quo False Lashes in the natural style, 803. Once the lashes were completely dry, I drew over them with my tattoo liner once more to smooth everything out.

IMG_0483

And that is my completed look! If you follow me on my Instagram, you would have already seen a sneak peak of this. I hope you guys enjoyed my look, and let me know in the comments what kind of look you’d like to see next, or if you’ve been loving any of these products! See you next time!

laurpngbackground

 

4 thoughts on “Dramatic Purple Makeup

Leave a Reply

