beauty · makeup · skin care

Makeup/Skincare for Dry, Sensitive Skin

Hello everybody!

If you’ve been around for a while, you will remember me talking about my dry and sensitive skin. I’ve struggled with finding some good skincare, as well as some face makeup that doesn’t make me look patchy and dry. Now that I’ve gotten into a routine that works, I’m going to share it with you!

Here is a pic of my face, following everything I’m about to tell you! It was taken from my most recent face of the day look.IMG_0266

Skincare

First thing’s first: You’ve gotta have a skincare regime that works! Around Christmas time last year I discovered First Aid Beauty, and I have been using it ever since. I’m planning to do a brand review on it, since it’s obviously worked well if I’ve been using it this long! In the meantime, you can read a snippet in my old December Favourites post.

The FAB products I currently use for my dry, sensitive skin are:

  • Pure Skin Face Cleanser With Antioxidant Booster (2x a day)
  • Facial Radiance Pads (1-2x a week)
  • Ultra Repair Cream Intense Hydration (2x a day)
  • Ultra Repair Lip Therapy (As often as needed)

I find that these products work excellent with my skin. Not only is my skin more plump and hydrated, but my acne has greatly diminished.

Face Makeup

After I prep my skin with my morning routine, I go at it with my face products. I am quite pale, so it’s been hard to find products that match my pale tone and also don’t appear patchy on my skin. The products I’ve found work the best are:

  • Make Up Forever Skin Equalizer Hydrating Primer
  • Tarte Amazonian Clay Full Coverage Foundation in Fair Beige
  • Smashbox Studio Skin 24 Hour Waterproof Concealer in Fair

IMG_0394

For the primer, I simply apply it gently with my fingertips on all areas of my face after moisturizing. It leaves my skin feeling prepped for foundation without feeling tight and dry like other primers sometimes do.

IMG_0414

I apply my foundation with my Beauty Blender (of course!) for the best results. I have tried using brushes before, but could not get my foundation to blend as nicely and was left with some undesirable textures. The clay seems to settle in really nicely on dry skin, and likewise it sucks up the occasional unwanted oil in other areas!

IMG_0415

After foundation, I apply my concealer to both red patches and under the eye. Although this concealer does not have as full of coverage as others like Nars Radiant Creamy, I do find that it does what I want and it does it well. It helps my tired purple bags to disappear, and diminishes the look of red spots.

IMG_0404

 

And that is what I use for my dry and sensitive skin! I hope this post is of use to those of you in the same boat as me. As always, thanks for reading and see you next time!

laurpngbackground

 

2 thoughts on “Makeup/Skincare for Dry, Sensitive Skin

  1. I’ve heard of First Aid Beauty, but I was scared to try them because I have sensitive skin! I’m also slightly acne-prone and combination, but it sounds like it’s done wonders for you, so I’m definitely going to give them a little test!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

