beauty · makeup

Half Cut Crease

Hello everybody!

I’ve been experimenting more with my ABH Modern Renaissance palette (which you can hear more about here), and I decided to try out a half cut crease using this palette. I want to share with you the finished look and a brief process of how I achieved it. Overall, I’m very happy with how it turned out, but I wish the inner half of my lid came out more shimmery! Here is the look:

IMG_9460IMG_9474

To achieve this look, I used the following colours from my Modern Renaissance palette (highlighted in blue):

half cut crease palette

  • I used Tempera on my whole lid to set my eyeshadow primer.
  • Buon Fresco and Antique Bronze as transition colours.
  • Love Letter as my crease colour, also for my lower lash line.
  • Cyrpus Umber for my outer corner and for more definition in my crease, also for the outside of my lower lash line.
  • Vermeer as my lid colour to create the cut crease, only going about 2/3 of the way across my lid.
  • Lastly, I used Love Letter once more to blend into Vermeer and create the ombre half cut crease look.

Before I applied Vermeer, I carved out my lid with my concealer and set it with Tempera. Then, I wet my brush and applied Vermeer. I wish that Vermeer came out brighter and more shimmery. I wanted to use only colours from this palette, but in the future I think I will try out a more shimmery eyeshadow for a more dramatic effect.

Other products that I used for this look are:

Face:

  • Smashbox Photo Finish Primer in Light
  • Tarte Amazonian Clay Foundation
  • Smashbox Concealer
  • Benefit Hoola Bronzing Powder
  • L’Oréal The One Sweep Sculpting Blush Duo (only the blush)
  • NYX Highlighter from the Love Contours All Palette (see a look from this palette here)

Eyes:

  • Urban Decay Primer Potion Original
  • Kat von D Tattoo Liner in Trooper
  • Marc Jacobs Velvet Noir Mascara (read a review here)

Eyebrows:

  • Black eyeshadow from the Smashbox Full Exposure Palette

Lips:

  • NYX Liquid Suede Cream Lipstick in Cherry Skies (read a review here)
  • L’Oréal Colour Riche Lip Liner

That’s all! Thank you for reading this, I hope you enjoyed this look. If you want to see another look I have done using similar products but different eyeshadow palettes, check out this post. To help me find a new product for future cut creases, my question for this post is:

What shimmery eyeshadows do you use for your cut creases?

laurpngbackground

5 thoughts on “Half Cut Crease

  1. LOVE the look! Going to attempt this myself! This ABH palette is right at the top of my wishlist! Can I ask what you use to make you featured image? Cannot for the life of me find an app to help with putting text in a box haha! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

