beauty · makeup

ABH Modern Renaissance Palette | Review

Hello everybody!

If you’ve read my last blog post, you’d know that I recently purchased the Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance Palette. I promised a review on it, so here it is. I have also included two looks I’ve done with it at the bottom of this post. Honestly, this palette was everything I hoped for and more. Here’s the palette:
img_9001img_9163

The palette is absolutely gorgeous, and it contains a variety of golds, oranges, pinks, reds, and more. I am so in love with the colours, but do they looks this nice when applied? Of course they do! The shadows are so soft and smooth, and it doesn’t take much on a brush for intense colour payoff. These shadows are highly pigmented, so you have to be very careful how much you pick up on your brush before sweeping it on your eyes, especially with the dark colours! Here are some swatches on my arm. The left side starts with “Raw Sienna” and works its way down that row, and the right side starts with “Tempera” and follows with that row:
img_9020

I love everything about this palette; it has beautiful shimmer shades, intense pinks and reds, gorgeous golds, and it all blends so easily and beautifully on the eyes. I’m also really enjoying the brush it comes with; one end is a fluffy blending brush and the other is stiffer with shorter bristles.

I would say the only downside to this palette is that you do end up with a bit of fallout. However, it is not much, and it easily brushes away with a fluffy brush! Although this palette is not cheap, it is definitely worth the price. I think it is my new favourite palette!

Here is the first look I did with this palette:
img_9065img_9060

If you’ve read one of my first posts, you’d realize that this is basically my signature look, but done with colours from the Modern Renaissance palette! For this look I used Tempera for my lid, Buon Fresco and Burnt Orange as transition shades, and Venetian Red and Cyprus Umber for my outer corner and slightly blended that into my crease. I also blended a bit of Venetian Red under my lower lash line.

The second look I did was a halo eye:
img_9213img_9189

I don’t typically do a halo eye because I’m never sure if it suits me. However, I got a lot of compliments on this look! For this look, I used Golden Ochre and Raw Sienna in my outer corner, inner corner, and crease, and Cyprus Umber in my inner and outer corner for the bold halo effect. I wanted to add some pink to it, so I blended Love Letter overtop. For the centre of my lid, I applied Primavera with a slightly damp brush for a more dramatic shimmer. For under my lower lash line, I used Love Letter and blended Cyprus Umber into the outside.

I hope this review helped you guys get a feel for this palette, and I hope you enjoyed my two looks! I’m sure I will use this in many looks to come. See you soon!

–Laur x

19 thoughts on “ABH Modern Renaissance Palette | Review

Leave a Reply

