beauty · makeup

My Four Go-To Red Lipsticks

Hello everybody!

Today I am going to be talking about my four go-to red lipsticks at the moment. I’ve got some pictures and lip swatches to show you; but, I would first like to point out that in my lip swatch pictures I did not line my lips, nor did I clean up the lipstick with concealer. Of course, if I was going out with these lips, I would have done those things! Here are my reds of choice:

1) Revlon Super Lustrous Creme Lipstick in 525 Wine With Everything

img_8698
img_8701
img_8736

I really love this lipstick. It is so creamy and the application is very smooth. Usually when I wear lipstick, I go for a more matte look, but when it comes to this red I really like the slight shine of it. I love that it is not drying, and that it is super affordable! One downside is that I do find it transfers easily and I find myself reapplying throughout the day, but I don’t mind!

2) Rimmel Kate Moss Lasting Finish in 107

img_8706
img_8709
img_8740

This red is more of a sultry cool-toned red. I really like this colour, and once again this lipstick is very affordable. I love that it has a matte finish; however, when I have dry patches on my lips this lipstick tends to accentuate them. Overall, I really love the colour and the finish of this lipstick.

3) NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Cruella

img_8710
img_8713
img_8756

I’ve talked about this lip pencil in my January Favourites post. I find that this lip pencil is actually very similar to the Rimmel lipstick. The colour is very close, and so is the finish. However, I love the NARS pencil because of the stick application; I find it very easy to apply. I also find that this product is slightly less drying than the Rimmel lipstick. As you can see, the colour bled out of my lips a bit, but it works great with a nice lip liner or some concealer to clean it up!

4) Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Matte Finish in Grand Cru

img_8695
img_8704
img_8768

This product was my obsession for a very long time. I love the soft, velvety finish that it gives my lips. However, I find that the product is slightly goopy when you apply it; it is more of a mousse than a liquid. I’m not sure if it is just because this product is getting old or not, but it takes me a few layers of application to get it looking the way I want. Usually when I use this product, I’ll use a lip liner over my entire lips, then apply this on top. I have not included a picture of this because I wanted to showcase the product alone, but I find that it works really well.

That’s a snapshot of my top four go-to red lipsticks at the moment. I’m looking more and more into liquid lipsticks because the idea really appeals to me. I think I’ll be splurging soon, and if so I will keep you guys posted and create an updated list!

What are your favourite go-to red lipsticks?

See you soon!

–Laur x

6 thoughts on “My Four Go-To Red Lipsticks

  1. I really struggle to find reds that suit me and don’t just make my mouth look super small. My current favourite is 22 Kylie lip kit but it’s SO drying and also, in my opinion, overpriced. These are gorgeous colours on you though and I’d be tempted to try Kate Moss one! Awesome post x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

