beauty · makeup

Dramatic Eye Look | NYX Palette

Hello everybody!

Today I decided to create a more dramatic eye look with my NYX Love Contours All Palette. This look is inspired by YouTuber JLINHH and her video tutorial with the palette. Click to watch her video here. I absolutely love what she did with the palette, and I wanted to try to recreate it. Here is what I ended up with:

img_8380img_8236

img_8412

To achieve this look, I basically did a less intense version of what JLINHH did. I’ve numbered the palette off to show you an order of how I did things:

nyxdramaeye.jpg

After priming my eyes with Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion, I set the primer with the white #1 colour all over my lid right up to my brows. Then I used the mauve #2 as my transition shade with a fluffier brush. I also used the darkish brown #3 as another transition shade and to deepen my crease. I used the same fluffy brush but applied it less liberally. Then, I mixed together the deep purple #4 and black #5 and applied this to my outer corner and outer crease very carefully. Afterwards, I blended it all out until I was satisfied with how it looked. To create her cut crease, JLINHH used the highlighter #6 and wet it on her brush with Urban Decay Setting Spray. For my not-as-cut crease, I used a bottom layer of the highlighter #6 and then layered the highlighter #7 on top of it, wetting both of them on my brush with my La Roche-Posay Thermal Spring Water. If you don’t know what that is, you can check out my last blog post here.

That’s it for my eyeshadow! To complete my eyes, I used my Kat Von D Tattoo Liner in Trooper and drew a longer and thicker wing than I normally would. Then I curled my lashes and applied Marc Jacobs Velvet Noir Mascara and added some Quo Falsies (something I never do!). Here is what the eyes look close up:

img_8313

I hope you enjoyed this eye look. I personally love the NYX Love Contours All Palette, and for how cheap it is you really can’t go wrong! It’s a great palette for the price, and the colours have more pigmentation than I expected them to. Let me know in the comments if you’ve tried this palette, and if you’ve done a post about it, link it! See you soon!

— Laur x

13 thoughts on “Dramatic Eye Look | NYX Palette

  1. You pull it off well, the makeup and all and I adore your blog. I would really appreciate your feedback on a few of my stories. Be sure to check out Lardy Arms…Queen Kong and I…Rutjob…Miss Scarlet and Blue Jasmine… Your opinion matters so much to my blog and I really hope to see you there soon

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

