beauty · makeup · skin care

Benefits of Thermal Spring Water

Hello everybody!

I have been using Thermal Spring Water for such a long time now, and every time I show it to a friend I get asked all kinds of questions. What the heck is that? Why did you spend money for water in a spray can? Okay, you can spray it on my face, but what does it DO? I find that in my area at least, there is so much uncertainty about Thermal Spring Water; many people don’t know what it is, despite it being sold in multiple drugstores and the like. This post will be all about Thermal Spring Water and the benefits it has for your skin.

IMG_8126.JPG

First Impressions of Thermal Spring Water

To be honest, when I first started out using Thermal Spring Water, I didn’t even know what it did. I bought it because it was half off and my cosmetician coworker recommended it to me (I worked at a drugstore at the time). The product I purchased was La Roche-Posay Thermal Spring Water, and it is still the one I use today. When I first used it, I felt immediately refreshed. It is a fine, cool mist that instantly soothes the skin. I continued to use it, and after a week or so I started really noticing some changes. Not only was it super refreshing to incorporate it into my skin care routine, but also it was really making my skin appear more radiant. It wasn’t a drastic boost of radiance, but definitely something worth noting.

What it Does

Since first using La Roche Posay’s Thermal Spring Water a few years ago now, I have actually done my research and complied a list of the benefits of this product (and other brands).

Tones and Purifies the skin: Thermal Spring Water contains a rich variety of rare minerals that act as antioxidants for the skin. La Roche-Posay boasts of its rich content of Selenium, “a powerful natural antioxidant.” These minerals work to naturally tone the skin to reduce redness and shut pores.

Soothes and hydrates the skin: This product instantly soothes the skin, but it also hydrates it. The minerals in thermal spring water cause this product to be an excellent addition to any skincare routine, especially during the winter months when hydration is key. It is good for dry and sensitive skin, and it also helps with eczema, rosacea, and psoriasis.

Anti-inflammatory/Pain relief: Thermal Spring Water is great for treating and healing wounds and burns. It is also great for speeding up the healing of rashes or any itchiness that your skin might face. Personally, I like to use it a little more than usual if I notice dry patches on my skin, breakouts, or if I have broken skin anywhere.

Protects from UV damage: Tying in the with burn relief a little bit, I have used this product in the past when I’ve been burnt from the sun and it works wonders. The spray relieved a bit of pain from my sunburn, and I noticed that when used consistently my sunburn disappeared faster than usual.

Sets Makeup: Yup, Thermal Spring Water helps to set your makeup as well. I’m sure it’s not as amazing as actual setting sprays, but it’s definitely better than nothing. I find that when I set my makeup with a translucent powder, finishing it off with my LRP Thermal Water helps to really lock it in. It also helps to refresh my look throughout the day.

I hope this post helped you learn a little bit more about Thermal Spring Water. Here are some great sources for you to explore even further:
https://www.jeancoutu.com/en/beauty/beauty-tips/the-benefits-of-thermal-water/
http://beauty.allwomenstalk.com/amazing-benefits-of-using-thermal-water-you-should-be-aware-of
http://www.cherrysuedointhedo.com/2012/05/thermal-spring-water-its-very-many-uses.html#.WH7UR7YrKt8
http://www.labmuffin.com/what-is-thermal-water-and-how-does-it-work-in-skin-care/
https://www.laroche-posay.us/thermal-spring-water-3433422404397.html

Let me know in the comments if you’ve ever used thermal spring water and some results you’ve had with it. See you soon!

— Laur x

8 thoughts on “Benefits of Thermal Spring Water

  1. Great post! I LOVE thermal spring water – people always think I’m mad because it is just spraying water on your face – but my skin always feel so fresh an hydrated after. I used to use the Avene one but am currently looking for a cruelty free alternative x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 🙂 I love how it makes my skin feel. Oohh that’s so awesome of you, thinking of being cruelty free when it comes to something like a spring water never occurred to me, but for repurchasing in the future I will definitely be on the look out for it!

      Like

  2. Very informative post! I was curious about the thermal spring water sprays and just recently have been using the Avene one. I just love how it feels on my face. Makes me feel refreshed and if my skin is feeling tight, it really helps!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

