beauty · makeup

Review | Marc Jacobs Velvet Noir Mascara

Hello everybody!

As some of you may remember from my December Beauty Favourites post, I recently purchased Sephora’s Lashstash To Go kit. This kit includes five mini mascaras and a coupon to receive the full-sized mascara of your choice from the kit. I’ve just begun using a new mini from the kit: The Marc Jacobs Velvet Noir Major Volume Mascara; and this post is a review of this little guy!

For starters, this mini contains 5g / 0.17 oz. of mascara, and it is in the shade “10 Noir.” The full-sized tube contains 0.32 oz, and retails at Sephora for $33CAD. The tube is simple and classy; it is sleek and black with “Marc Jacobs” printed on it in metallic writing:

img_8110

This mascara really does what it advertises; it only takes one coat for my lashes to look extremely dark and voluminous. The formula itself is fairly rich and creamy, with a thicker consistency. Others have declared it as a pretty wet formula, and I’d have to agree. However, I do find that because it is so creamy and wet, it clumps easier than other mascaras. This is no big issue though; once you get used to the formula and the wand, application becomes much easier, and clumps can be avoided. What I love about this mascara is that one coat is all you need for long, thick lashes (as opposed to other mascaras where I need at least two coats to be satisfied), but the formula is also buildable for an even more intense look. I personally do not notice a fragrance when I put it on; it is nothing too potent like other mascaras I have tried.

The wand of the mascara is sort of like an hourglass shape; it is curvy and thinner in the middle. This allows you to get right down to your lash line, but it also makes application for the lower lashes a bit more difficult. However, it is definitely manageable. I find that if I angle the wand so that mostly just the “ball” on the end touches my lower lash line, it is much easier to apply. The wand actually reminds me a lot of Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara, but I prefer the Marc Jacobs formula to Too Faced. With Better Than Sex, I found that the mascara really flaked off throughout the day and I had a lot of fallout and smudges under my eyes. Velvet Noir is smudge-proof and I haven’t noticed any flakes or fallout.

img_8114

Now, to the visual proof that this stuff really works. Here is a picture of one eye without mascara and one eye with the Marc Jacobs Velvet Noir mascara:

img_7993

Here is my completed look, using just one coat of Marc Jacobs Velvet Noir mascara on each eye:

img_8010img_8049

Overall, I really love this mascara. Although it can be easy to clump at first, it is definitely something that you can work on and get used to in order to avoid clumps if they are not what you’re looking for. I love how thick, long, and intense it makes my lashes look with just one coat. I also love that it lasts all day without smudging or budging. It really is an excellent mascara, and it might be the full-sized mascara that I pick with my coupon from the kit!

I hope you enjoyed this review! Let me know in the comments what your favourite mascara at the moment is. See you soon!

— Laur x

8 thoughts on “Review | Marc Jacobs Velvet Noir Mascara

    1. I know exactly what you mean! I usually two mascaras or at least two coats of the same one, but this one is so instantly volumizing that I don’t need anything other than one coat unless I’m going for a more intense look!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

